This community located in extreme south Graves County, was founded Feburary 1836, but was not laid out until December 24, 1841. The post office was called Cornersville, perhaps because it was at the junction of Highway 121 and 564 and later changed to Farmington, as it was known for its highly productive farmland and for the rural economy and life style of its earliest residents. Early Farmington consisted of doctors, stores, churches and the school. The doctors took care of the drug store, sick and undertaker duties. Other community services were a gristmill, water hauling and blacksmith, telephone service, garage and lumber company.
The general store played an important role. Three of the most noted were Mr. Barber Boyd, Mr. Voris Wilford and Mr. CW "Boochie" Watson. Boochie ran the store from 1949-1966, followed by John Walter Galloway 1966-1974, and is still operational. This store was noted for the famous "Boochie Burger" cooked by Mrs. Pauline Lamb.
The Farmington Institute was founded in 1879. In 1917 it became Farmington Graded High School. The first building was a one-room log structure, followed by a four-room structure with an auditorium and music room. The school proudly boasts of the many teachers and principals that have walked its hallowed halls. Other notables from the area were Nathan Stubblefield, the inventor of the radio; Adrian "Odie" Smith excelled in basketball, playing in the Olympics and professionally for the Cincinnati Royals; and Anthony "Tony" Smith who is our current Graves County Judge Executive.